Temporary Incomplete On Transcript-- FREAKING OUT! Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
lawschoolbrat

New

Temporary Incomplete On Transcript-- FREAKING OUT!

Post by lawschoolbrat » Fri May 18, 2018 3:52 am

Hi everyone,

I'm currently a second-year student at a CSU (California State University) double majoring in Political Science and History. I started getting involved with undergraduate research this year, and it has been super intellectually stimulating and fulfilling. I worked as a research assistant in the fall and began my own independent research study this spring semester. Everything was going great until the professor I was working under informed me two weeks ago (literally right before finals week) that I could potentially be receiving an authorized "incomplete" in her class. I was shocked to be hearing this, as I had been working so hard and slaving away at my research all semester. She told me that she needed to see a paper that summarized all my findings, and that it had to be at least 20 pages. I was overwhelmed to have had this huge assignment dropped on me at the very last minute, not because I was incapable or unwilling to do the work, but because the professor had failed to communicate the terms of the class clearly to me.

Because the class is an independent study, there is no syllabus, and I am the only student in the class. I assumed that, like any other course, my grade would be based on a semester's worth of work, not just one paper. Had known that my grade in the course would come down to just one paper, I would have started working on it MONTHS ago. Even if I would have known, however, it would have been difficult as I would not have had the data that I have now (my research involved an interview that I just recently obtained after months of reading).