2.64 GPA(College issued) and 174 LSAT Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
jasmith28

New

2.64 GPA(College issued) and 174 LSAT

Post by jasmith28 » Sat May 05, 2018 9:48 am

So as stated above my gpa in college was a 2.64 and my highest LSAT... so far was a 174.

I know in most circumstances this would be a pretty big split. I would like to get at least a top 50 school or T14 if possible.

I have 5 years work experience after college, I was an Army engineer officer for 3 years immediate after school. I got medically discharged and now have a GI Bill that pays up to 25k a year for tuition. I also receive a mo thou stipend. Past 2 years I worked as an electrical engineer for a Fortune 500 engineering firm with both electrical and managerial experience. I have very good work experience, though it’s not legal related.

My personal letter is very good because 3 years ago I was told I would not be able to walk again after my army injury and now I’m running marathons.

My goal is Northwestern, that is the school I dreamed of going to. Early decision and all. But I want the truth. What are the odds of getting in there with my scores and work experience.

And what options do you think I may have?

ExperssioUnius

Bronze

Re: 2.64 GPA(College issued) and 174 LSAT

Post by ExperssioUnius » Sat May 05, 2018 6:50 pm

Unless you have a strong unpward grade trend or a compelling explanation regarding the GPA, T-14 would be a real longshot even with a 174. That said, if you'r going to apply to T-14 schools, you've picked the right one to shoot for given that NW places an emphasis on work experience and you'll have a chance to share your personal story during an interview.
For your reference, you can look at lawschoolnumbers and see what the lowest, reported, non-URM GPA acceptance number was each year for Northwestern

jasmith28

New

Post by jasmith28 » Sat May 05, 2018 9:21 pm