What is criminal defense like? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
quest909

New

What is criminal defense like?

Post by quest909 » Mon Apr 30, 2018 9:28 pm

Hello I'm a new member to this forum and I hope I'm posting this in the right spot..

Anyways, can any criminal defense lawyers tell me what the career is like? Whats your work hours, salary? lets say you make 40k, can you work more hours and make more money? Is starting as a public defender for 2 years then going solo a realistic option?

Im a mid 20s student returning to college and im just trying to see if this is the career for me. Im not interested in going biglaw 160k a year etc... id like to represent lower and middle class people but still make 70 to 80k a year with a ceiling of 100k if possible with idk say 5 years of experience. is this realistic? thanks

p.s. i hope this post isnt frequently asked, i tried searching all over google and couldnt find much other than lots of information on what being a pd is like.

objctnyrhnr

Re: What is criminal defense like?

Post by objctnyrhnr » Tue May 01, 2018 1:21 pm

[quote="quest909"]Hello I'm a new member to this forum and I hope I'm posting this in the right spot..

Anyways, can any criminal defense lawyers tell me what the career is like? Whats your work hours, salary? lets say you make 40k, can you work more hours and make more money? Is starting as a public defender for 2 years then going solo a realistic option?

Im a mid 20s student returning to college and im just trying to see if this is the career for me. Im not interested in going biglaw 160k a year etc... id like to represent lower and middle class people but still make 70 to 80k a year with a ceiling of 100k if possible with idk say 5 years of experience. is this realistic? thanks

p.s. i hope this post isnt frequently asked, i tried searching all over google and couldnt find much other than lots of information on what being a pd is like.[/quote