How to make 160K+ right out of law school? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
LegalBiology

New

How to make 160K+ right out of law school?

Post by LegalBiology » Sat Apr 28, 2018 5:00 pm

So I am fairly new to the pre-law game so can someone explain this to me

I've heard you have to go into "big law" to make real money out of law school. How do you do this? If you go to a top 14, are you pretty much guaranteed a job at big law as long as your grades are decent? what if you go to a tier 2 school like USC Gould or BC, can you still get into big law and make money? Those school's "employment data" seem to suggest that the average income is the same (160+ for all those schools)

also, I have a b.s. in neuroscience from a top 20 undergrad. can I work in patent law in a "big law" firm and make 160+ right out of law school?

thanks for answering:)

sparkytrainer

Silver

Re: How to make 160K+ right out of law school?

Post by sparkytrainer » Sat Apr 28, 2018 6:05 pm

Law is extremely bi-modal in salary distribution. Its either biglaw for 180k or everything else for 40-60k. There is legitimately zero in-between for new graduates.

Biglaw is extremely prestige-centric. The honest truth is there are 13 schools that give you a good chance at biglaw (the top 13). Georgetown gives you an alright chance, Texas an alright chance in Texas, and UCLA gives you an alright chance on the west coast. By alright, I mean 30-40%. In comparison, Duke and Columbia both give you an 85% chance, with the rest of the t13 falling in around 75-85%. Yale kids could go wherever they want, but a lot of them choose other things such as legal academia.