Should I retake a failed class? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
xxtsar

New

Should I retake a failed class?

Post by xxtsar » Wed Apr 25, 2018 8:36 pm

I'm a sophomore with a 3.2 gpa. Freshman year was rough for me, I took one W and an F on my transcript but Since then I've had almost straight A's. My university offers retake opportunities and I was wondering how would law school admissions (only T14) factor this in if I replaced the F with an A. I'm very confident I could retake the class and get an A, after doing so my gpa would go up to 3.4. This is a huge boost for me and makes me closer to my 3.5+ goal. My university replaces the grade and removes the past one from your gpa calculation but I had heard the law schools factor BOTH grades into the calculation. Any T14 success stories with some Ws and/or Fs on transcript? Thank you!

BeeTeeZ

Bronze

Re: Should I retake a failed class?

Post by BeeTeeZ » Thu Apr 26, 2018 3:33 am

xxtsar wrote:I'm a sophomore with a 3.2 gpa. Freshman year was rough for me, I took one W and an F on my transcript but Since then I've had almost straight A's. My university offers retake opportunities and I was wondering how would law school admissions (only T14) factor this in if I replaced the F with an A. I'm very confident I could retake the class and get an A, after doing so my gpa would go up to 3.4. This is a huge boost for me and makes me closer to my 3.5+ goal. My university replaces the grade and removes the past one from your gpa calculation but I had heard the law schools factor BOTH grades into the calculation. Any T14 success stories with some Ws and/or Fs on transcript? Thank you!