Should I mention that I have a child? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
justanotherone6

New

Should I mention that I have a child?

Post by justanotherone6 » Sat Apr 21, 2018 8:28 pm

Greetings,

I will be applying to law school this fall. I have a 3.75 gpa and I’m taking the LSAT this summer (have been scoring 170-173 on practice tests).

I also have a one year old. I went back to class three days after giving birth and have made straight A's since I've been pregnant. I'm also a year younger than everyone else since I graduated high school a year early.

I’m wondering though if higher ranked law schools look down on having a child or if it may affect my chances at scholarships/acceptances (as they may think I won’t be dedicated). Should it be something I don’t disclose? Or do they not care?

DerKatze

New

Re: Should I mention that I have a child?

Post by DerKatze » Tue May 01, 2018 5:31 pm

Don't mention it. Not only is there no reason to, denying you because you have a child could constitute gender-based discrimination.

BeeTeeZ

Bronze

Post by BeeTeeZ » Thu May 03, 2018 3:15 pm

justanotherone6 wrote:Greetings,

I will be applying to law school this fall. I have a 3.75 gpa and I’m taking the LSAT this summer (have been scoring 170-173 on practice tests).

I also have a one year old. I went back to class three days after giving birth and have made straight A's since I've been pregnant. I'm also a year younger than everyone else since I graduated high school a year early.

I’m wondering though if higher ranked law schools look down on having a child or if it may affect my chances at scholarships/acceptances (as they may think I won’t be dedicated). Should it be something I don’t disclose? Or do they not care?
I don't think your ability to get pregnant is a skill that directly translates to law school performance, so I suggest leaving it off your application materials.

nixy

Gold

Post by nixy » Thu May 03, 2018 5:48 pm