Should I even consider law school? Terrible college student... Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Trying_2_Make_It

New

Should I even consider law school? Terrible college student...

Post by Trying_2_Make_It » Wed Feb 21, 2018 9:32 pm

So I am a new member here, but unfortunately I am asking a fairly common question. Need some advice from the TLS community. I am turning 30 this year and am facing the decision to pursue law school now or never. I know schools are still taking applications, but given my numbers I deem it best to sit out and apply early next cycle (Nov.).

I was a very very poor student in college and barely managed to graduate (escape) with a degree in biochemistry. There are no good excuses just plain immaturity and lack of motivation. A lot has changed for me though. I managed to get a job in my industry 5+ years ago and have climbed the ladder over those years. I really learned more about my industry and now work in R&D for cancer diagnostics. I do a lot of work with cutting edge technology that branches into personalized medication. My work experience however shows me that the law is not quite ready in how we will regulate the industry in the future. I see a path I want to go and opportunity knocks here.