Engineering manager looking to transition to law Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Chelsealaw

New

Engineering manager looking to transition to law

Post by Chelsealaw » Sat Jan 13, 2018 6:30 pm

Folks- i’m an engineering manager working in an automotive company. I have bachelors and a masters in engineering. I want to take on a new challenge and have been very interested in law school.

Two questions for the wise folks on this forum:

1. What are my odds for getting into a law school? I’m in mid 30s and this is a bit unconventional

2. What’s the best path forward? Assuming my previous education helps me... for example I already have a bachelors. What do I need to do?.

Thank you all
:D Chelsea

Eleven

New

Re: Engineering manager looking to transition to law

Post by Eleven » Sat Jan 13, 2018 6:39 pm

What is your undergraduate GPA? You need to take the LSAT.

Chelsealaw

New

Post by Chelsealaw » Sun Jan 14, 2018 1:34 am

Undergrad 3.7 and grad 3.9

mcmand

Silver

Post by mcmand » Sun Jan 14, 2018 3:36 am

Your UGPA is all that matters here and it's decent for getting into most good law schools. The only other major factor is your LSAT.

If you want to take it, do a prep course and give yourself at least 6 months to prep. You want to get north of a 165. Scores range from 120-180, and 165+ is what will get you into decent schools, and even higher will get you into top schools. But it's pretty impossible to get a solid LSAT score without extensive prep.

The question remains if it's worth going through all of the prep. What animates your interest in being a lawyer? What sort of practice are you envisioning? Have you talked to many lawyers?
Last edited by mcmand on Mon Jan 29, 2018 2:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

doggozeg

New

Post by doggozeg » Mon Jan 15, 2018 9:42 pm