Want to do a double major and JD/MA Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
ichthyosaur

New

Want to do a double major and JD/MA

Post by ichthyosaur » Tue Jan 09, 2018 4:24 am

I'm a current undergrad interested in doing a joint JD/MA program. Currently have a pretty high GPA that I'd hate to mess with. Will doing a double major offer any benefits? I hear a lot of people saying no, but doesn't it negatively affect internship opportunities to just do the bare minimum academically?

icechicken

Bronze

Re: Want to do a double major and JD/MA

Post by icechicken » Tue Jan 09, 2018 4:32 am

Sorry to pepper you with questions, but answering them will help you get better advice:
ichthyosaur wrote:I'm a current undergrad interested in doing a joint JD/MA program.
Why do you want a JD? What field do you want a master's in, and why?
Will doing a double major offer any benefits?

What kind of benefits are you talking about? Double-majoring is good for demonstrating interest in two disparate academic fields, or for developing an interdisciplinary line of inquiry that can be ridden all the way to a doctorate, but it's not clear if that would be relevant to your goals (because, again, it's not clear what your goals are).
Doesn't it negatively affect internship opportunities to just do the bare minimum academically?
Are you talking about internship opportunities in college or in law school? If the former, no, it hardly matters at all. If the latter, I've heard anecdotally that people in dual-degree programs have a tougher time getting summer legal jobs because of the extra workload, but other people here will have better info on that. What do you mean by "just do the bare minimum academically"?

A. Nony Mouse

Diamond

Post by A. Nony Mouse » Tue Jan 09, 2018 7:59 am