Undergrad Transfer Student Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
amanda4678

New

Undergrad Transfer Student

Post by amanda4678 » Wed Dec 13, 2017 7:44 pm

Hi everyone,

I recently decided that I am interested in going to law school. Right now I am a student at UCLA. I transferred to UCLA from a community college. I was just wondering how they calculate your undergraduate GPA as a transfer student. Do they look at the two separately? Do they value the GPA at UCLA more than the community college? Or do they just simply take the two GPA's from each school and combine it? Also, if you have a high GPA and do really well on the LSAT, does it harm me in any way that I was a transfer student?

Thanks for your help!

Amanda

UVA2B

Gold

Re: Undergrad Transfer Student

Post by UVA2B » Wed Dec 13, 2017 7:46 pm

They collect all your transcripts, plug in all of your grades and out pops your LSAC GPA. The classes will be counted in accordance with their relative credit hours. There is no bearing on where the class took place, community college or UCLA.

KENYADIGG1T

Bronze

Post by KENYADIGG1T » Wed Dec 13, 2017 7:58 pm

UVA2B wrote:They collect all your transcripts, plug in all of your grades and out pops your LSAC GPA. The classes will be counted in accordance with their relative credit hours. There is no bearing on where the class took place, community college or UCLA.
CC transfer bumping this

cavalier1138

Post by cavalier1138 » Wed Dec 13, 2017 8:06 pm

KENYADIGG1T wrote:
UVA2B wrote:They collect all your transcripts, plug in all of your grades and out pops your LSAC GPA. The classes will be counted in accordance with their relative credit hours. There is no bearing on where the class took place, community college or UCLA.
CC transfer bumping this
...why?

Rigo

Diamond

Post by Rigo » Wed Dec 13, 2017 8:09 pm

What UVA said.