International applicant with Oxford law degree Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
pickupel

New

International applicant with Oxford law degree

Post by pickupel » Tue Oct 31, 2017 7:20 pm

I'm will be applying to JD programs in the next cycle (2018-19) for Fall 2019 admission. I'm relatively new to the application process and I'd love some advice on the relative importance of various aspects of my profile.

Background:

1. I graduated from Oxford this year with first class senior status law degree (top 5% of my class) and several prestigious prizes. I also have a first class undergraduate degree from another top UK university. Based on conversation with other applicants from the UK, I believe my transcripts will be marked as 'superior' by LSAC.

2. I moved to the US this year to accommodate my wife's career and we're planning to be here for the long term. I am a UK citizen, but I have a green card and will not need a law firm to sponsor me when I ultimately apply for attorney jobs.

3. I've decided a JD will be more advantageous than an LLM because it offers more portability within the US — I don't want to take an LLM, get a job in New York and then be stuck if we have to relocate to a less amenable state.

4. I am taking the February LSAT.

Questions:

1. I understand undergraduate GPA is a smaller factor for international applicants as it is not reported to US News. Given this, how much of a factor will my undergraduate / law school grades likely be in the application process?

2. Given my law school grades, and significant experience working in legal research, how much weight will the LSAT carry in my case? I know the LSAT is normally of paramount importance for international applicants, but given that its primary function is as an indicator of potential and I have already completed a law degree, am I right in thinking past law school performance will be the decisive factor in my application?

Many thanks in advance for your help.