Where to Apply? Retake? Application help Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
AUGLaw

New

Where to Apply? Retake? Application help

Post by AUGLaw » Tue Oct 17, 2017 4:16 pm

I am a senior BS student at a Tier 2 National University (according to US news). My GPA on graduation will be ~3.4 and I'm certain it will likely be closer to 3.45 by the time the LSAC converts it. I do not qualify for URM status. My current LSAT score is 159 but I am retaking it in Dec and have been scoring 170+ on my practice tests (under test taking conditions)

I know my GPA isn't great, but I have valid and verifiable circumstances explaining that. I'm unsure as to whether or not these circumstances are really worth mentioning in an application for fear of appearing to be making excuses. I do believe that my academic performance in the face of these circumstances and the fact that those circumstances will no longer be present while I am attending LS may have some impact on my chances of being accepted if admissions is made aware. I'm more than willing to go into detail about these circumstances if that kind of thing is okay but the bottom line is that they were family and medical related.

I've got a list of schools that I plan to apply to, but I am more than open to suggestions. Currently I do not expect to get into any school better than UGA but I'm hoping I'm just cynical. I know full well that the asterisked schools are out of the question but I put them on the list because I only plan to apply there if my Dec LSAT is greatly improved.

UVA*
Georgetown*
Emory*
George Washington University*
UGA
Marshall-Wythe