Retake LSAT? Chances? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
181plz

Bronze

Retake LSAT? Chances?

Post by 181plz » Thu Oct 12, 2017 3:04 pm

Hello everyone,

I have three general questions:
1. What are my chances in the t13 generally, and at Columbia/NYU specifically?
2. Is it worthwhile to take the LSAT one more time in December to potentially help with waitlists/$$? Applications should already be out by then.
3. How urgently must my apps be sent out? Can I take until the end of the month?

I have a 3.40 GPA. I took the LSAT four times maxing out at 172 this September.

I have some decent work experience and AmeriCorps service as well, but no exceptional softs.

cavalier1138

Re: Retake LSAT? Chances?

Post by cavalier1138 » Thu Oct 12, 2017 7:40 pm

1. Not bad. Better shot at NYU than Columbia, probably.
2. At this point, an extra point or two isn't going to make a huge difference, because you're at or over the 75th for every school you have a reasonable chance at. If you had a higher GPA, I'd say go for it, but everything after 173 at this point isn't going to move the needle much.
3. You should be getting them together, but by the end of the month is probably fine. Everything before Thanksgiving break is "early".

181plz

Bronze

Post by 181plz » Thu Oct 12, 2017 8:11 pm

cavalier1138 wrote:1. Not bad. Better shot at NYU than Columbia, probably.
2. At this point, an extra point or two isn't going to make a huge difference, because you're at or over the 75th for every school you have a reasonable chance at. If you had a higher GPA, I'd say go for it, but everything after 173 at this point isn't going to move the needle much.
3. You should be getting them together, but by the end of the month is probably fine. Everything before Thanksgiving break is "early".

Could another take make the difference for Columbia? Their 75th was 173

cavalier1138

Post by cavalier1138 » Thu Oct 12, 2017 8:34 pm

181plz wrote:

I thought it dropped this year?