Mediocre Academic LOR v. Good Employer LOR Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
sangry2016

New

Mediocre Academic LOR v. Good Employer LOR

Post by sangry2016 » Mon Sep 25, 2017 7:29 pm

Hi all, this is my first time posting, as I'm very torn about my LORs and need some advice. I've been out of college two years and I keep reading that, in my case, it can be detrimental to not have two academic recommendations. In particular, this article was adamant about it:

https://law.yale.edu/admissions/jd-admi ... pplication
(I know that Yale is a big stretch for me because of my gpa, but I'd love to have a chance, and I assume this also applies to other top schools)

I can get one academic LOR from an English professor who I'm close to but don't have a good option for a second academic LOR. There are two other professors I could ask (they both gave me an A in a high-level chemistry class), but neither knew me very well. In addition, one is too busy to write me one this month, and the other hasn't replied to my email. On the other hand, I've worked two years as a paralegal and I'm confident my boss will write me a good recommendation.

As I see it, that gives me four choices for my LORs:

1. Keep asking the professor who hasn't responded and hope she says yes;
2. Wait another month to submit my applications (November rather than October) to get a LOR from the professor who's busy;
3. Use my employer LOR; or
4. Use my employer LOR and options 1 or 2.

So, tl;dr, is having two academic LORs so important that I should use a weaker one, wait a month, or submit three LORs? Or should I just go with the employer LOR?

Thanks in advance to everyone who responds.

cavalier1138

Re: Mediocre Academic LOR v. Good Employer LOR

Post by cavalier1138 » Mon Sep 25, 2017 7:37 pm