Worth applying/attending USC/UCLA with 3.72/17x? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
lgsr106

New

Worth applying/attending USC/UCLA with 3.72/17x?

Post by lgsr106 » Sun Sep 24, 2017 8:13 pm

I've been planning on attending law school since I graduated undergrad in 2016. I'm currently in my second year of teaching special education with Teach for America. In December 2015 I scored a 169 on my LSAT, but I took it again this month and am confident I scored 170+ (PT ~175 range). I've only seriously been considering T14 schools. I am from the east coast, but attended USC undergrad (3.72 GPA) and have been living in LA for 5 years. One of the main reasons I was striving for T14 schools is so that I'd have geographical flexibility in case I want to practice bicoastally.

However, the more I seriously consider going to law school in the next year, the more important it feels for me to stay in California. One notable reason is due to a health condition that flares up in the cold. If I limit myself to T14, I will not be going to law school next year unless I get into Stanford or Berkeley.

Do you think it's worth it for someone in my position to apply to USC or UCLA? Prestige does play a role for me, but I think at this point I'm willing to look past it if it would be a practical decision- especially if I could get a full ride. Are they significantly less worth it than Berkeley/Stanford?

unicorntamer666

New

Re: Worth applying/attending USC/UCLA with 3.72/17x?

Post by unicorntamer666 » Sun Sep 24, 2017 8:52 pm