LSAC GPA & Study Abroad Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
mandapandax

New

LSAC GPA & Study Abroad

Post by mandapandax » Tue Sep 12, 2017 9:23 pm

Plan on calling LSAC to confirm, but figured I'd also ask here: is a semester study abroad supposed to be counted into your GPA? I studied in the Netherlands where the grading system is significantly different than the US grading system. My UGrad did not count the grades toward my GPA, only as transfer credit yet today when I looked at my Academic Summary Report through LSAC, I noticed that my abysmal semester abroad grades WERE calculated into my cumulative GPA, bringing my GPA down significantly. I was under the impression that these grades should not be counted, but perhaps I was way off? Anyone else has something similar happen to them?

lemonlacroix

New

Re: LSAC GPA & Study Abroad

Post by lemonlacroix » Tue Sep 12, 2017 9:59 pm

From how I understand it, if a US institution reports grades for your time abroad and they're equivalent to a year of coursework, LSAC counts your grades. It sounds like while your University didn't count them as anything other than transfer credit, the grades are on your transcript and therefore count. I actually emailed LSAC because I had a similar question and they were super helpful!

mandapandax

New

Post by mandapandax » Tue Sep 12, 2017 10:19 pm

Thanks for the reply! I only studied abroad for a semester so I believe this is different? My home institution has the credit listed only as transfer credit-no grades were assigned.

Aimeech

New

Post by Aimeech » Tue Sep 12, 2017 10:23 pm

I also had a semester study abroad. The grades from that semster were actually listed on my undergrad transcript and were therefore counted in my GPA for LSAC. I would still clarify about your situation with LSAC since it sounds like the grades weren't on your transcript.

Tyty1204

New

Post by Tyty1204 » Wed Sep 13, 2017 2:44 am