Job Probation Over a Kitten - disclose? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
sabraph

Bronze

Job Probation Over a Kitten - disclose?

Post by sabraph » Wed Aug 16, 2017 12:28 am

Here's a funny story (and a serious questions) to break up the application monotony.

My sophomore year of college I worked as a Resident Advisor. I had a particularly horrible boss who was very wishy washy on which policies she thought was important and which weren't (ex. she wrote a girl up for having her male cousin sleep on the floor of her room when no roommate was there or complained but [underage] residents brought alcohol into the dorm and that was fine).

End of the year, finals are over, the RAs and desk clerks are the only people in the building setting up for the Special Olympics conference held at our college annually. One of the desk clerks adopted a kitten and it was in the dorm - my boss clearly knew about it (she walked past the resident in question and said "I know what you're up to" and then meowed) so I didn't think anything of it when the desk clerk asked me to watch the kitten while she cleaned her room for check out.

Cut to two weeks later I was working for ResLife over the summer and the boss calls me in for a meeting where she informs me she's putting me on probation and sending me through the conduct process. I went through conduct, told them I thought she knew, but they still found my "guilty" and had me write an essay on what I learned from the situation. I ended up leaving the job because the situation made me realize I was tired of all the drama associated with that position (I actually ended up getting two cats).