Physician, MBA, 3.8 UGPA, LSAT=152 Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
aalian

New

Physician, MBA, 3.8 UGPA, LSAT=152

Post by aalian » Tue Aug 15, 2017 8:37 pm

hello,

I am 38 years old and I have worked as an emergency medicine physician for the last 7 years..I graduated from medical school in 2005, I graduated from business school and received an MBA in 2016...initially, I had thought of becoming a hospital administrator but I have found myself becoming jaded with the practice of medicine and hospital administration. I actually would like to become a plaintiff malpractice attorney. While most doctors I know are scrupulous caring physicians, I also see unscrupulous physicians who are making millions by working emergency physicians to the bone without regard for patient for physician well being. they were publicly traded and private emergency physician conglomerates that have partnered with equity capital who only care about profits without regard for patient safety and care. if you were not seeing X number of patients per hour and generating extra income for our company, you Will be fired-plain and simple. this leads to a situation that is high risk. the amount of patients seen each hour and the amount of money generated from each patient is published for everyone in the physician group to see resulting in an environment where physicians are rushing to see people for fear of being shamed and being "slow." I have seen surgeons send patients in through the emergency department for nonemergent surgeries so they can bill as out of network providers. The surgeons are millions each year by sending these patients in through the emergency department when the surgery could be scheduled on an outpatient basis. Instead of The insurance company spending $2000 for gallbladder removal, the insurance company spends $50,000. Anything the insurance company does not pay for is "balance billed' and the patient becomes responsible for the difference betwe