Chances at Northwestern with a 2.8 gpa Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
goabbiego

New

Chances at Northwestern with a 2.8 gpa

Post by goabbiego » Sun Aug 13, 2017 3:43 pm

Hi everyone. I have a low gpa of 2.8 and a 175 lsat score.

I graduated with a BS in biology in 2012 at a top engineering school - it's a well-known school but not exactly an ivy so not sure if that really helps my situation. I worked quite a bit while in school (researched at a lab, tutored and worked as a barista along with some ECs) and struggled a lot with science courses (my parents would only help pay for college if I majored in a science/engineering field).

After ugrad, I worked at a non-profit health clinic for 2 years and will be 3 years into working as a paralegal at a law firm when I start applying. I'm pretty confident in my LORs - My supervisor at the clinic and I have a great relationship and I've been getting a lot of positive feedback at my current firm.

I'm nervous about the low gpa but am hoping with ugrad 5 years behind me now, I could be a candidate for Northwestern since they are super splitter friendly. I'd be extremely happy to be accepted - would I have any chance at their ED program? If not, what schools would you recommend that I aim for?

Thanks in advance for your advice!

**edit: Thank you all for your responses! I know a lot of you have said super splitters have unpredictable cycles but the thought of not being accepted anywhere haunts me. Would I be a good candidate for GWU or GMU? If not, what schools do you think I should realistically be aiming for?

Also, if I decided I wanted to teach English abroad, would that be a bad idea considering one of the only strong suits in my application is my work experience? I wonder if I should just stay at the current firm for as long as possible instead of hopping around.

Sorry for all the questions! Reading these forums makes me even more anxious than ever!