Questions from an engineering grad applying to law school Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
BigBear85

New

Questions from an engineering grad applying to law school

Post by BigBear85 » Tue Jun 27, 2017 1:23 pm

Hello TLS community,

I am a long-time lurker and first-time poster, and I want to thank you for the frank (though at times extremely cynical) advice posted on this forum. I am in the process of preparing for admission in Fall 2018, and am currently studying hard for the September LSAT. I have some questions about my background and how to prepare the best application for my goals, and I would really appreciate any help.

My background is BS/MS engineering degrees from a Top-15 USNWR university. My undergrad GPA was 3.50, master GPA 3.38 (bad grade in a research course) and I completed both degrees in 4 years. I also took 4 additional upper-undergrad courses after graduation for fun (two of them were literature/writing courses - any area I have had a lifelong interest in) and got all A's, but I understand these won't count for LSAC GPA purposes. I am a few years out of school and my WE includes some corporate internships, some full-time tech transfer work, and some entrepreneurial stock investment research work.

My goal is to practice law in Chicago, and from some informational conversations I've had it seems like I would most like litigation work. It seems like IP litigation may be the path of least resistance to getting a job with my background. I also like to argue with my mom if that is a good indication of liking litigation?

So here are my questions: