International undergrad: Help! Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
hhrodddd

New

International undergrad: Help!

Post by hhrodddd » Sun Jun 18, 2017 12:22 pm

Hello everyone!

I'm an international student who wants to apply for a JD program in the United States. I'm from Eastern Europe, and will be heading to college in my home country this fall. I have a problem deciding which college program I should choose to have a better chance of getting into a T-14 law school, mostly having HYS in mind. I don't know if it's the right thread to ask such question, but I'd be utterly grateful to hear some advice as I'm really torn between my options. To present a better picture of my situation, I'll add that I'm highly interested in American law and politics. Also, I don't want to do a JD in my country and then an LLM in the United States. I'm only interested in an American JD. Here are the programs and my thoughts:

Program 1
American Studies at the best-ranked university in my country, highly regarded internationally; the university is public.
The 3-year program is colloquially only called bachelor and is designed in my country's educational standards.
What I worry about regarding this program:
- I'm afraid that this program may not be recognized as equivalent to a BA degree in the United States; there is no an LSAC center in my home country, I doubt that many nationals from here apply for JD admissions in the US, thus I'm worried that the LSAC may have a problem with recognizing my degree
- The program focuses on cultural studies, while my interest is politics

Program 2
International Relations at one of the top universities in my country; the university is private, ranked second-best among private ones, I think.