Unique Situation - Reapplying/Going Back Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
grtbooks91

New

Unique Situation - Reapplying/Going Back

Post by grtbooks91 » Thu Jun 15, 2017 9:15 am

I've posted here in the past about my somewhat unique situation, but I've got some additional questions so here's a quick TL;DR:

I enrolled at a T20 five years ago straight out of undergrad. At the time, my stats were 3.77/167. I completed one semester of 1L courses with a 3.76 GPA (put me in the top 5-10% and also got a CALI award for Contracts) but towards the end of second semester I withdrew and have only 'W's for my second semester. I did this for personal reasons, some of which included some mental health issues I've spent the time since resolving, and also some family things that are also mostly resolved by now.

Since withdrawing, I've gotten about 3 years of work experience in higher education (fundraising) and made a lot of strong connections. I've also just started a masters at my employer institution (which is a T14 school, if that's worth anything), but I'm realizing that the salary ceiling for my industry, while nice, isn't anything close to what I hoped to get out of law. There were also a lot of elements of my 1L education that I found intellectually fascinating that aren't present in my current work, and I think working in regulatory/government affairs or in FedGov could be really interesting to me. So now I'm wondering about going back to law school.