No ties, no idea - How screwed am I? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
VandelayIndustriesTM

New

No ties, no idea - How screwed am I?

Post by VandelayIndustriesTM » Wed Jun 07, 2017 2:05 pm

long time lurker but first time poster, I need some advice from you guys

SO basically I graduated from UC Irvine in 2016 with a degree GPA of 3.81 and the LSAC just informed me I have an actual GPA of 3.50 because I failed some classes at junior college years ago before I thought of going to university. Bummer but nothing can be done.

I have no ties anywhere, I've grown up all around the USA and therefore according to your general consensus, cannot get a decent scholarship or job in a smaller marker. I am looking to practice in Denver, CO (notoriously hostile to outsiders) or Seattle, WA (maybe not as bad as Denver). Again, I have no ties to these places or ANYWHERE else for that matter.

So going along my ideal future is to attend a t14, go into biglaw in one of those regions, work myself to death then transition to an in-house counsel type role. How feasible is this for someone with no ties to either area? I'm adamantly against working in New York, California (outside of the SF bay), or NC (where I live right now).