3.92 GPA, Great softs, have not taken LSAT yet Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
WhiteMiddleClassGirl

New

3.92 GPA, Great softs, have not taken LSAT yet

Post by WhiteMiddleClassGirl » Fri May 19, 2017 9:25 am

I am currently a rising junior in college and will definitely graduate a year early, May 2018 (making me a senior). I have a 3.92 GPA (BS in economics) and know for sure that I want to go to law school. I have great softs ( internships at three law firms, attorney general's office, a district court and a federal agency). But I haven't taken the LSAT yet nor have I started studying for it. Should I cram this summer and take it in September and apply EA/ED in the fall or should I take more time to study for it and apply in fall 2018. If I wait to apply I risk my GPA going down and am forced to get a real job, haha. If I apply this fall I would definitely be one of the youngest in the class but I already have experience. Any advice?

Edit: Also will probably receive a letter of rec from a HLS alumni senior judge who I interned for.
Last edited by WhiteMiddleClassGirl on Fri May 19, 2017 9:45 am, edited 2 times in total.

cavalier1138

Re: 3.92 GPA, Amazing softs, have not taken LSAT yet

Post by cavalier1138 » Fri May 19, 2017 9:29 am

Perfect username.

I highly recommend taking time to work/live between undergrad and law school. But regardless, you need to focus on getting a high LSAT. Your softs are middling for law school applicants (sorry to break it to you), and they will not overcome a low LSAT score. With that GPA, you owe it to yourself to get a 170+.

A. Nony Mouse

Diamond

Post by A. Nony Mouse » Fri May 19, 2017 9:31 am

Take more time and get a job. Being the youngest/inexperienced in law school isn't an advantage. You can do just fine; you're just way likely to do better at getting jobs/making choices if you have some post-grad work experience.