2.8 GPA with a 173 LSAT Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
nxxxnda

New

2.8 GPA with a 173 LSAT

Post by nxxxnda » Thu May 18, 2017 3:56 am

Hi,

I was wondering if anyone is able to give me any advice for the 2018 cycle.

I am a graduating undergrad with a 2.8 gpa and 173 LSAT score;. My grades show an upward slope but I had 3 Ds and 1 F in a particular semester as a sophomore due to a Title IX issue. But I have received honor recognitions.

I also have about 4-5 years of working-professional experience. I held an internship for a Americorp for a year. I also served on the exec board of an international org on my campus.

Any suggestions on how to strengthen my application? I don’t know if I have a chance in getting admitted to a top20 school
Last edited by nxxxnda on Tue May 30, 2017 1:48 pm, edited 3 times in total.

BansheeScream

New

Re: 2.8 GPA with a 173 LSAT

Post by BansheeScream » Thu May 18, 2017 4:06 am

I think you have a solid shot at a number of T13s. A lot of schools want to increase their LSAT medians and your super splitter status could be viewed favorably. Apply broadly though because outcomes for super splitters are hard to predict. Your work experience will separate you from your UGPA slightly too. I may be reading your post wrong but you are not a K-JD correct?

One part of your post that stuck out to me was you mentioned a Title IX issue. I'm not sure if you were the complainant or the respondent but if you were the respondent theres a good chance you're going to run into some serious C&F issues which would require you to reevaluate your situation. If you're the complainant, I'm sure somebody can provide advice on how to write an appropriate GPA addendum.

nxxxnda

New

Post by nxxxnda » Thu May 18, 2017 7:32 am

Thank you so much for your feedback.

In the Title IX issue I was the complainant.