Visit to Court of Criminal Appeals...Advice Please Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Caddo16lake

New

Visit to Court of Criminal Appeals...Advice Please

Post by Caddo16lake » Mon May 15, 2017 5:59 pm

I am preparing to visit the Court of Criminal Appeals, I am a law student, and I will be watching the oral arguments and then meeting with one of the justices afterward. I am looking for some tips on etiquette and also in speaking with the judge. Also, very important,... should I plan on taking a packet with my personal statement/resume and LOR's or just take a few business cards and a notepad to jot down any important information?
Really wanting to make a good impression because I hope to secure an internship next summer.

mjb447

Silver

Re: Visit to Court of Criminal Appeals...Advice Please

Post by mjb447 » Mon May 15, 2017 9:31 pm

Is "next summer" 2017 or 2018? If summer 2018, I probably wouldn't give him a resume unless he basically asks for it or gives you a very obvious segue like "so where are you working next summer?" and talks up working at the court. Giving him your resume unexpectedly during the meeting could make it look like you went just to get an internship and possibly like you don't otherwise value the time the judge is spending with you during your visit. If you make a good connection after oral argument and the judge seems interested in your development, you may have better results keeping in touch in the future about how law school is progressing. If/when your summer plans come up, you can raise the issue then based on the relationship you've built rather than a ten-minute conversation after oral argument.