Advice on Admissions Process & Decision Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
BCEagles2014

New

Advice on Admissions Process & Decision

Post by BCEagles2014 » Mon Apr 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Hi everyone,

With my LSAT test date fast approaching (June 12th), I am weighing my options on how to approach the admissions process. I will spare you all the details (I've written two other posts detailing my circumstances if you wish to look) but the quick sparknotes version is that I'm in a situation where I have to deal with a sub 3.0 GPA due to a very poor freshman-sophomore year period. I finished strong in the latter half of undergrad, but I'm aware that matters little to admissions as they mostly like at the overall GPA. I have been working for 3 years now, most recently at a mobile tech startup in Manhattan. I am shooting for a 170 on the LSAT, but realistically I'll probably get around 160-165 if I had to guess.

I have been speaking with admissions deans from a variety of schools to get an idea of what the process looks like and what schools would be realistic goals for me. My more notable conversations were with Boston College (my alma mater) and Pace University. When speaking with BC, I simply was asking for advice as an alumnus. They had my grades on file and were aware of the issues I was dealing with at the time. They said I built up a strong story in my last 2 years as my grades greatly improved, and they also stated that my work experience was very valuable to them and would look favorably in the admissions process. I'm curious from your experiences how genuine they are being with me. Is this all just fluff or can my personal statement and WE amend a weak GPA and keep me in consideration for T1 schools? Of course, this would also require a strong LSAT score.