Will I get accepted into Law School? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
CamachoMike

New

Will I get accepted into Law School?

Post by CamachoMike » Fri Apr 21, 2017 3:25 pm

Hello, my questions is: Will I get accepted into law school?

I am a currently a student at New Mexico State University. I am majoring in Government with 2 minors in International Relationships and Immigration Policy and want to get into Law School.

I have a good GPA when it comes to classes that only have to do with my career. In all my Government related classes I have mostly A's and just a few B's averaging a 3.7 GPA in those classes.

The problem is that I took forever to find a career that I really enjoyed and that I that I was good in. Before becoming a government major I went through almost every career you could think of. I tried Business, Civil Engineering, Animal Science and my transcript is full of classes I could pass. I have several W's, F's, D's and C's, but these classes have nothing to do with anything related to Law or my major. I had horrible first years in college because I started at age of 17, living away from home, was immature and had depression. Then I also really struggled with math and physics classes failing both twice (non help towards my Government major). My cumulative GPA is 2.9.

I scored a 165 on my LSAT which is not bad for my second time.

I have also been involve in plenty of school organizations and extracurricular activities including work.

Will my low GPA prevent me from getting accepted into Law School?

I'm particularly looking at Texas Tech Law School

Thank you.
Last edited by CamachoMike on Fri Apr 21, 2017 3:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

AJordan

Silver

Re: Will I get accepted into Law School?

Post by AJordan » Fri Apr 21, 2017 3:34 pm