Are admissions committees more forgiving of "Splitters" if non-traditional students Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
HarveySpecterr

New

Are admissions committees more forgiving of "Splitters" if non-traditional students

Post by HarveySpecterr » Sun Mar 19, 2017 4:08 pm

As the title of this thread suggests, I'm applying in the fall and concerned that my 3.3 UGPA will keep me out of the programs I really want, even if I score above the median LSAT and have excellent soft materials. However, I have a lot of work experience, and a terminal degree -- a Ph.D. in English from a top-20 program, and almost 10 years experience teaching writing at the college level -- so the two bad years of my undergrad experience were almost 15 years ago. I know some programs are very closed off to "splitters," UT-Austin for example, but I wonder if I might have any shot since I wasn't earning Cs' and below since dinosaurs roamed the earth. Any advice for me?

Also: I know that Northwestern is typically kinder to splitters; also Cornell and, perhaps, UVA. Certainly I will apply to UVA, although I'm not too interested in NW or living in Ithaca; none of the T1's seem very doable with a 3.3, and I'm hearing that if you don't get in to a T1 it's not even worth going to law school. Thoughts, anyone?

A. Nony Mouse

Diamond

Re: Are admissions committees more forgiving of "Splitters" if non-traditional students

Post by A. Nony Mouse » Sun Mar 19, 2017 4:26 pm

Funny that you mention UT - there was a poster here a couple of years ago who had a low GPA (lower than yours I think) who did very well with UT, in part because he was non-trad and his GPA was 15-20 years old (and he had done a lot of good stuff in the meantime including the military and I think engineering).

I don't know that I'd say admissions committees will automatically be more forgiving but if you get a high LSAT you will have options. You will need to apply broadly and see what happens.