Receiving law school fee waivers from "reach" schools Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
ed

New

Receiving law school fee waivers from "reach" schools

Post by ed » Sat Nov 19, 2005 4:35 pm

I have recently received law school fee waivers and invitations to apply from Penn and Cornell. I never considered my numbers, 3.72 and a 156 lsat, up to par with the admissions criteria for these schools. The schools do make referrence to my ethnicity in their invitations to apply. I was wondering if receiving these letters makes the appliciations worth while, or are they simply formalities that should not be paid any attention? Thanks for the help, Ed

jmnc

New

law school fee waivers

Post by jmnc » Sat Nov 19, 2005 9:20 pm

I received a law school fee waiver from UChicago and am tempted to apply, but my numbers aren't that strong. UGPA: 3.41 and LSAT: 164. I've got some good work experience (two years in the Peace Corps and now I'm a 7th grade Spanish teacher at a public school in my home town). And I'm Latino (my mother is Uruguayan). I read on another message board that some schools entice people who don't have strong numbers to apply so that their applicant is larger and hence their US News rankings increase. I don't know if it's true, but it's an interesting theory. Regardless of the conspiracy theory, if you are interested in applying to those schools, you should since you won't be paying anything to do so. Maybe Ken (the moderator) will have some more insight. Good luck with all your applications.

dag35

New

law school fee waivers

Post by dag35 » Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:47 pm

If you have the time and the interest, it is definitely worth applying to those schools that give you fee waivers. For what it's worth, I received law school fee waivers from 3 schools that I was interested in. Of the 3 schools at which I received law school fee waivers, I got accepted at one, wait listed at one, and rejected at one.