Switch from Medicine to Law Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Dbate

New

Switch from Medicine to Law

Post by Dbate » Fri Jun 07, 2013 2:19 am

Hello,

I recently graduated from college and I was set on the premed pathway. I got a degree in Molecular Biology from a quality university (HYP) with a an okay gpa (3.57). I took the MCAT and scored fairly well with a 35 (the average at Harvard Med is a 36), so i am intellectually capable of pursuing a medical career.

My only problem is that I think I don't want to be a doctor anymore. Since my freshman year of college, I had wanted to be a political science major and pursue law school, but I decided against that because I didn't want to take the "easy" way out. But now that I think of it, that is what I should have pursued.

With my low GPA I will probably not get into a good law school, so do you think it would be worth it to switch to a legal career?

Dbate

New

Re: Switch from Medicine to Law

Post by Dbate » Fri Jun 07, 2013 2:20 am

Also, when I was a sophomore and last had this debate about my future career, I decided to take a practice LSAT and scored a 159 without any preparation.

I don't know how much I will be able to improve, so take that for what its worth.

Nova

Platinum

Post by Nova » Fri Jun 07, 2013 2:22 am

Go to med school

Nova

Platinum

Post by Nova » Fri Jun 07, 2013 2:23 am

Last edited by Nova on Fri Jun 07, 2013 2:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

ManoftheHour

Gold

Post by ManoftheHour » Fri Jun 07, 2013 2:23 am

Don't go to med school. Every doctor I've met have said, "Don't go. Be a PA."

Make six figures, way less debt, only two years for the program, and you get to deal with patients almost as much as doctors.
Last edited by ManoftheHour on Fri Jun 07, 2013 2:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

Want to continue reading?

Register now to search topics and post comments!

Absolutely FREE!

Dbate

New

Post by Dbate » Fri Jun 07, 2013 2:23 am