35 yo- 2.0 GPA from 1998, 172 LSAT Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
mpgold

New

35 yo- 2.0 GPA from 1998, 172 LSAT

Post by mpgold » Tue Jan 08, 2013 3:29 pm

I've seen other post like this, but I'm a bit different than the typical undergraduate.

I was a mess in college, no excuses, simply did the bare minimum to graduate. My grades actually went down as the years progressed. I graduated from U Texas with a BA.

I eventually got my life together and got a lucky break to get into a well known private equity firm as an analyst and have been there ever since, working in Tokyo, Madrid and Chicago. For the last 5 years I've wanted to go to law school, and so I decided to take the LSATs and was fortunate to score a 172.

I sure you can figure out what I will ask....is it worth my time to apply to any decent schools? Does an extensive, unique job history matter?

I currently live in Chicago and I'm sure I can get into Depaul or John Marshall, but, I'm not sure I'm interested in a lower tier school. Do I have any chance at all of getting into a decent school?

Thanks for any input you can provide.

Dmini7

Silver

Re: 35 yo- 2.0 GPA from 1998, 172 LSAT

Post by Dmini7 » Tue Jan 08, 2013 3:36 pm

Northwestern. They are pretty forgiving of a poor GPA for work experience, and the 170+ LSAT is just what they want. With that said, nearly all mid tier 1 and tier 2 will probably bite on the LSAT and understand that you have distanced yourself from the GPA. I would expect large amounts of money from those schools personally, but I can't really say since your such a large splitter. I am not certain, maybe someone else can enlighten me, but do the schools still have to submit their students GPA if they are "X" amount of years out of undergrad?
Last edited by Dmini7 on Tue Jan 08, 2013 3:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

WanderingPondering

Bronze

Post by WanderingPondering » Tue Jan 08, 2013 3:38 pm