How to write an appeal for fee waiver Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Cventura0603

New

How to write an appeal for fee waiver

Post by Cventura0603 » Fri May 18, 2012 10:46 am

Hello everyone! I'm fairly new to the Lsac application process and I need some help! I was denied the Lsac fee waiver because I make too much money; I'm a single and my income was
21,000 last year. How is it possible that I was denied!? So I am in the process of writing this appeal but what documents should I provide and how should I write this letter? Any advice would be appreciated!

Tom Joad

Gold

Re: How to write an appeal for fee waiver

Post by Tom Joad » Fri May 18, 2012 10:49 am

You probably made more money last year than 80% of law school applicants. Everybody is applying to law school because they have no job or are tired of their terrible job.

ETA: Source for 80% figure: my behind.

cinephile

Gold

Post by cinephile » Fri May 18, 2012 11:18 am

Unfortunately, you're unlikely to get the fee waiver. I applied at 25, was not claimed as a dependent, and made half of what you did last year. I was denied. My friends in masters programs who didn't earn anything at all got the fee waiver.

CanadianWolf

Diamond

Post by CanadianWolf » Fri May 18, 2012 11:22 am

Unfortunately, a single applicant making $21,000 per year without substantial medical or dependent deductions probably doesn't qualify for fee waivers. Contact LSAC & ask for their financial guidelines regarding fee waivers. Nevertheless, individual law schools can grant application fee waivers for their law school.

R86

Bronze

Post by R86 » Fri May 18, 2012 12:10 pm

Sent you a PM.

Want to continue reading?

Register now to search topics and post comments!

Absolutely FREE!

Jchan

New

Post by Jchan » Thu May 24, 2012 2:38 am

I know. It is ridiculous. Im trying to write an appeal now and dont know how to do it either. Gluck and lmk if u or anyone else know how to plz!

futurejdgirl

Bronze