ok this a revision. burn this down! like before. again id rahter hear it from you than get the small envelope. thx!!! Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
Bitisinc

New

ok this a revision. burn this down! like before. again id rahter hear it from you than get the small envelope. thx!!!

Post by Bitisinc » Wed Mar 27, 2019 12:24 am

The settings are immaculate. Mise en place rituals have been performed. The guests arrive. They shyly mispronounce some of today's offerings as they probe for, and receive information about tonight's menu offerings and wine pairings. The clinking of glasses, tinkling and scraping of cutlery, and the small bursts of discrete laughter throughout the dining room give way to the silence of another evening of concluded service. I am a restaurant server, and I love what I do for a living. Why law school? I concretely believe that the reason to work hard, and become excellent at any given endeavor, is to arrive in a position to be of best help to others. For me, that position of best help is in the provision of legal services.
I've been in the restaurant industry for nearly twenty years, and during those years the tug toward practicing law never went away. I always told myself, "just one more year, then law school". Eventually I grew in the industry, and life went on uneventfully, comfortably. I gained the respect of colleagues and restaurant guests who would become regular customers and subsequently personal friends. While I relish the instant gratification of meeting needs of my customers, the call to another career has been undeniable. The fire in my belly would not be put out. What makes me good at waiting tables is that I study the craft of service to ensure a wonderful dining experience. I aim to sync my inclination toward service, with my ability to pull disparate factors together to meet needs. I want bring these things to bear with eyes toward a legal education and eventual practice.