personal statement peer review Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
Anonymous User

personal statement peer review

Post by Anonymous User » Sun Sep 16, 2018 4:56 am

“ There will not be salvation without suffering.” - Invisible Guest
When I was in a geology internship in Tangyu, Xi'an, in 2016, I accidentally came to know that a factory was discharging polluted water secretly to Tangyu River. As a geology major student, I decided to report this to the government.
It was easy to find out the telephone hotline, but I hesitated because another story came across my mind: a young and unsophisticated student reported his school to the municipal government for illegally opening holiday classes, yet the concerning official handed over the poor student’s phone number to his school. The result was that the student being dismissed. I wondered what would be the result of me being known by that factory. There’s a saying in China: “To blockade the source of one’s fortune is no different from murdering his parents." So I was afraid it would be more than leaving school. Thinking of my parents and the fact that I was the only child of the family, I gave up and tried to comfort myself that I was just an ordinary person, and this was merely human nature to keep oneself from danger.