Is this PS too military-heavy? Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
thatscoutpl

New

Is this PS too military-heavy?

Post by thatscoutpl » Tue Sep 11, 2018 11:36 pm

Ok, so I'm applying for the Army's FLEP program. Basically, I'm an active duty Army officer trying to get the Army to send me to law school in order to become a JAG officer. Anyways, I'd like some thoughts on this personal statement, because I'm not sure if it comes across too militaristic.

Most applicants to law school come from a similar educational background and have similar goals. The vast majority are recent college graduates with degrees that relate to the study of law. Most have never worked at a high-level position or led large workgroups. Most are trying to get into the best law school they can, get hired at a large law firm, and make a lot of money. I come from a different background, have different experience, and have different goals than these applicants. My motivation for applying to your school is a desire to continue my service as an active-duty Army officer. I intend to earn the opportunity to serve as a Judge Advocate General’s Corps Officer and provide legal services to soldiers, commanders, and their family members.

The first stirrings of my desire to participate in our criminal justice system are probably very similar to many other applicants. I grew up watching Atticus Finch, Juror # 8, and Jack McCoy do their parts to fight for justice for the wronged, for the rights of the accused, and for the principles that underpin the system. I developed an intense admiration for the justice system, where facts and reason are the golden standard. I can still remember the awe and respect I felt while listening to Atticus say “Our courts have their faults as does any human institution, but in this country, our courts are the great levelers, and in our courts, all men are created equal” in To Kill a Mockingbird.