Desperately need some help with my PS topic! Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
Betty Gao

New

Desperately need some help with my PS topic!

Post by Betty Gao » Sat Dec 09, 2017 7:19 am

Hello everyone!

This is my first time to post something on TLS. Really nervous right now!
So the thing is, I really can't decide what topic should I write...
I have come up with several topics, would you nice people help me with this?? Thank you guys very much!
1. Justice delayed is justice denied. I saw a case about a innocent man was jailed for 10 years, his family had appealed again and again and finally the court retrial this case and found out he was innocent, but the poor man died so he died as a criminal.(Is this too radical? Because I am a Chinese, is this looks like I am trying to say something bad about my country...?)
2.My aunt had a very miserable marriage. Her husband had a major depressive disorder, so he cheated with my aunt and hit her. I was angered and this thing makes me want to get into law school to know more about human rights.

Really hard to decide... please help me!

Piggy11

New

Re: Desperately need some help with my PS topic!

Post by Piggy11 » Sat Dec 09, 2017 12:48 pm

Unfortunately, none of those are good topics, because they are not PERSONAL.
You can use a news story or the adversities faced by someone in your family as a very brief introduction, but the rest of the statement needs to be about YOU and what YOU have done to pursue that interest (volunteer work would be the best example, but I understand that the opportunities for that might not be as abundant in China). If you have that, great, but if not, you'll have to write about something else, preferably something where you can provide examples from your own experience.

Betty Gao

New

Post by Betty Gao » Sat Dec 09, 2017 11:20 pm

Oh...I got it.
I will find something that can reflect my own experience!
Thank you very much, Piggy 11!!! That does help a lot! :D