Admit being privileged in PS? Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
lcc20

New

Admit being privileged in PS?

Post by lcc20 » Thu Oct 19, 2017 4:26 am

I'm an international student and I do lead a privileged life in my country. In my PS I would like to start by talking about how I came to realize that I am a beneficiary of social inequality. This topic is related to why I want to apply for US law schools and what I plan to do in the future. But is it too risky to admit being privileged? It is true that realizing the fact of being privileged was a very important turning point in my life. Does a PS of "I'm privileged and I know it, but I'm a good person" sound disastrous?

cavalier1138

Re: Admit being privileged in PS?

Post by cavalier1138 » Thu Oct 19, 2017 5:48 am

The topic itself isn't necessarily a no-go, but I think there's about a 99% chance that it comes across badly.

Hand

Gold

Post by Hand » Thu Oct 19, 2017 7:05 am

I assume that what you want to do with your us law degree is join ranks of the privileged in this country?

lcc20

New

Post by lcc20 » Thu Oct 19, 2017 9:12 am

Hand wrote:I assume that what you want to do with your us law degree is join ranks of the privileged in this country?
No. Actually I want to learn more about public interest law. In my country this field is still quite undeveloped so I have to further my studies in another country. I plan to work for NGOs in the future. Sounds like hypocrisy, I know. The story is true, but maybe I shouldn't write it down in my PS. :(

lcc20

New

Post by lcc20 » Thu Oct 19, 2017 9:14 am

cavalier1138 wrote:The topic itself isn't necessarily a no-go, but I think there's about a 99% chance that it comes across badly.
Got it. Thanks for comment!

Want to continue reading?

Register now to search topics and post comments!

Absolutely FREE!

mvp99

Silver

Post by mvp99 » Thu Oct 19, 2017 10:52 am