Should I write a diversity statement? Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
OldSpeedoGuy

New

Should I write a diversity statement?

Post by OldSpeedoGuy » Tue Sep 19, 2017 10:55 pm

I'm a first generation student and I'm wondering if it would be appropriate to write a diversity (or some other) statement about it. I mention it in passing in my personal statement, but should I expand on it in another? Also I'm white.
Thanks.

UVA2B

Gold

Re: Should I write a diversity statement?

Post by UVA2B » Tue Sep 19, 2017 10:57 pm

If you think you can write a strong diversity statement, then you should write one. It doesn't have to be based on some traditional form of diversity. If you think there are things not stated in your personal statement that will help understand you as an applicant, it will help your application. If you're trying to force a diversity statement, then that'll show in the statement. Until you write it/define how you want your diversity statement to read, you can't entirely decide whether you should submit it.

OldSpeedoGuy

New

Post by OldSpeedoGuy » Tue Sep 19, 2017 11:36 pm

UVA2B wrote:If you think you can write a strong diversity statement, then you should write one. It doesn't have to be based on some traditional form of diversity. If you think there are things not stated in your personal statement that will help understand you as an applicant, it will help your application. If you're trying to force a diversity statement, then that'll show in the statement. Until you write it/define how you want your diversity statement to read, you can't entirely decide whether you should submit it.
I'm thinking something along the lines of:
I never saw my dad much growing up because he worked 80 hours a week so we could afford an education.
I had to be independent in figuring out what to do and how to make the most of university (I was also homeschooled through junior year of high school).