I need help deciding personal statement topic. Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
RP2015

New

I need help deciding personal statement topic.

Post by RP2015 » Fri Sep 15, 2017 6:14 pm

I am working on perfecting my law school application. I graduated undergrad 2 years ago with a 3.8 GPA in a health background, and have not yet taken the lsat. I am averaging around 165 on the practice exams with no studying. I just signed up for a class to hopefully get a higher score. I am trying to decide between two different topics to write my personal statement on. I was hoping one of you could help me out.

1. Business - I own a few successful businesses (I'm only 25). I was going to go into detail about how I got started, what all I got into and how it helped me realize that law was something I really wanted to do, instead of medicine as I was just brainwashed by my family to become a doctor hence the health undergrad degree.
2. Dogs - I have 2 dogs that fall under breed specific legislation and because of it I have had to fight a lot of legal battles to protect my babies who have done no wrong. That always helped me realize I would do very good in law school.

What should I talk about? Do you think they will think I am crazy for applying to law school when I already have a successful career as a business owner? Is it too much "bragging" if I mention my businesses/success? Or do you think they will be impressed by all that I have been able to accomplish so young? I would greatly appreciate any help at all.

EDIT: I am applying to a local city law school that is T3. Nothing fancy as I have to stay in my city due to business/family. Which, I forgot to mention I will be stepping down from my position Jan 2018 to be able to focus on law school 100%.

UVA2B

Gold

Re: I need help deciding personal statement topic.

Post by UVA2B » Fri Sep 15, 2017 6:21 pm