Risky Topic (Sexual Assault/Domestic Violence) Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
BostonOrBust

Bronze

Risky Topic (Sexual Assault/Domestic Violence)

Post by BostonOrBust » Fri Jan 06, 2017 1:41 am

Hi everyone!

I'm wondering about my personal statement. I am taking a huge risk and hoping someone can tell me if I'm crossing a line. In college I dated someone who was extremely abusive and repeatedly raped me. I ended up involved in court/legal stuff as a result. We're a few years out from this and everything is resolved. I have pursued a career in advocating for victims. I've been working as a sexual assault survivor advocate for a few years, and I am going to law school because I want to be a victim rights attorney.

My personal statement basically tells this story. There are no gory details, no emotions or waxing poetic about my recovery. It simply states that this was my experience, this is what I learned, this is how I apply it in my current work and how I will apply it to my work as a victim rights attorney.

To me it is the only thing I can think to write about. This is my entire reason for doing the work I currently do and for pursuing law. Anything else would not be authentic.

My stats, as they stand, are in/around the 75th for my top picks (which are fairly mid to low-mid range schools.) Since I'm public interest focused, I'm trying to show my passion for PI and hopefully cash in on some PI scholarships, so I'm wondering if it's worth the risk. Any advice would be appreciated.

stego

Platinum

Re: Risky Topic (Sexual Assault/Domestic Violence)

Post by stego » Fri Jan 06, 2017 2:10 am

Not an expert on this kind of thing but since it has motivated your past career decisions and informs the type of law you want to do, I think it makes sense for your personal statement.

mjb447

Silver

Post by mjb447 » Fri Jan 06, 2017 11:41 am