Sending in a Personal Statement that is over word/page limit Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
GentlemanJim

Bronze

Sending in a Personal Statement that is over word/page limit

Post by GentlemanJim » Tue Jan 05, 2010 11:08 am

What are your thoughts? Is this an automatic fail? I wrote a personal statement that is about 1000 words/3 pages, which was fine for the three schools I most wanted to apply to, but for a lot of schools that is just way too long. Here's the problem: this is the best thing I've ever written. No matter what I do, I just can't trim it down significantly. I'm an excellent writer, so it's not that I don't know how to edit. It's just the thing is so damn good. I honestly can't imagine an admissions staffer not being impressed, provided they took the time to read it.

So, that being said, my question: will they read it?? Is sending in a personal statement that is too long something that will screw you over outright? Anyone have any experience here?

Thanks.

LawandOrder

Silver

Re: Sending in a Personal Statement that is over word/page limit

Post by LawandOrder » Tue Jan 05, 2010 11:09 am

Your hubris is astonishing.

skynet

Bronze

Post by skynet » Tue Jan 05, 2010 11:09 am

If they give you a limit, adhere to it. If chopping a page out of this statement is too painful, write a new one.

Neelio

Silver

Post by Neelio » Tue Jan 05, 2010 11:10 am

I was about 30 words over on a certain schools limit. I just emailed admissions and asked if it was permissable... they gave me the green light. my advice: don't submit until you ask them directly.

GentlemanJim

Bronze

Post by GentlemanJim » Tue Jan 05, 2010 11:11 am

For argument's sake, pretend my hubris is justified.

Want to continue reading?

Register now to search topics and post comments!

Absolutely FREE!

dakatz

Gold

Post by dakatz » Tue Jan 05, 2010 11:11 am