Negotiating michigan? Forum

Discuss various money matters here. Loans (federal and private), scholarships, lottery winnings, or other school finance related information and queries.
needmonay

New

Negotiating michigan?

Post by needmonay » Sun Apr 28, 2019 6:38 pm

Hi everyone, I'm pretty new to the law school scene so I need some advice with scholarship. I have a 3.4 gpa and got a 162 lsat and I managed to get into michigan (I'm in state and urm). However, I didnt manage to get very much scholarship (only around 10k). I read some threads on here that people have use other schools to negotiate scholarships with their first choice, so I was thinking about doing that with michigan. I also applied to cooley law school because it's close to where I live and I read somewhere that it was a pretty good regional school according to rankings (I think it was ranked 2nd for something?).

I really want to go to michigan but i'm strongly considering just going to cooley unless michigan offers me more scholarship. Because of this, do you think it would be worth it to use cooley to negotiate for michigan scholarship? How would I even go about doing this? Or should I just settle on going to cooley bc I want to practice in michigan anyways? I'm not considering going to any other schools because I need to stay close to home due to family issues. Thanks for the advice everyone and Im excited to be going to law school!

cavalier1138

Re: Negotiating michigan?

Post by cavalier1138 » Mon Apr 29, 2019 6:12 am

I'm going to give a serious answer despite the obvious red flags that this is a troll (namely that Michigan State is literally in the same town as Cooley, and you apparently didn't consider it, which doesn't fit your stated scenario).