high lsat score with low gpa, can still get scholarship? Forum

Discuss various money matters here. Loans (federal and private), scholarships, lottery winnings, or other school finance related information and queries.
gitgudatlaw

New

high lsat score with low gpa, can still get scholarship?

Post by gitgudatlaw » Fri Jul 21, 2017 3:49 am

hi all,

I scored a 177 on the June LSAT (third try). I wont be able to go to law school this semester since I want to try and get into a tier 1 law school and the application deadlines are long past. What worries me is during my undergrad years, I really didn't give a shit and skipped, got Fs, etc.. My degree is in economics and I ended up getting a 2.46 GPA when I graduated. I know its my fault but there isn't much I can do. My last year of my undergrad was the best year in terms of grades but my transcript is pretty messy.

So with that being said... I am going to apply to some top schools. I used the LSAC lsat/gpa calculator to see what my chances are of getting into some top schools. I really want to go to UT law since I live in texas and the instate tuition is nice for me. I believe I have a 40% chance of getting in (according the the calculator).

My big question is.. will I be offered good scholarships? Since I want to try and go to tier 1 schools, even try to shoot for top 25, the out of state tuition is pretty expensive excluding living expenses and I am worried I won't be able to get offered any scholarships.

It seems that LSAT scores are correlated with scholarship awards but with my low gpa, do you all think I will be ok?
Last edited by gitgudatlaw on Fri Jul 21, 2017 1:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

chargers21

Gold

Re: high lsat score with low gpa, can still get scholarship?

Post by chargers21 » Fri Jul 21, 2017 4:32 am

Is that your degree gpa or your offical LSAC calculated one?