Chance me 3.57 GPA & 170 LSAT Forum

Share experiences and seek insight regarding your experience as an underrepresented minority within the legal community.
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
dassale1

New

Chance me 3.57 GPA & 170 LSAT

Post by dassale1 » Fri Jan 11, 2019 12:25 pm

I have 4 years of experience working as a petroleum engineer. Can I get into HYS with 3.57 GPA ( petroleum engineering degree from UT ) and 170 LSAt score? I am a African American woman if that can help.

dknightisyoung

New

Re: Chance me 3.57 GPA & 170 LSAT

Post by dknightisyoung » Sat Jan 12, 2019 12:04 am

I think that'll be hard. You'll need to write a killer PS. My friend had same GPA but several points higher on the LSAT but didn't get in, and he's URM. He got scholly though at lower T14 and is now going to graduate pretty much debt free at V20. Apply everywhere and if you don't get into Harvard that's all right. And if you do, that's totally awesome.

NegusDaHabesha

New

Post by NegusDaHabesha » Sat Jan 12, 2019 2:56 pm

I'm not sure I agree with the above post. From everyone I've met and talked to at Harvard, I would actually wager you have a better than decent shot with those stats, softs, and URM status. As a fellow URM applying this cycle I definitely encourage you to apply broadly (all t-14) and take advice on TLS and other forums with a grain of salt. Very few people actually know how this process works for URM applicants. I've already been granted acceptances to a few places TLS would have all but decidedly told me not to even waste my time applying. Good luck, and congrats on all your achievements thus far!!