3.4 156 Latino (Central American) LGBT Forum

Share experiences and seek insight regarding your experience as an underrepresented minority within the legal community.
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
lawyersrus

New

3.4 156 Latino (Central American) LGBT

Post by lawyersrus » Mon Mar 06, 2017 7:27 pm

I went to an Ivy Plus for undergrad (graduated 5 years ago). I have plenty of law firm experience and was promoted to a senior position at my current job a few years ago. I applied to several T-14 and top 20 schools in January as well as a few regional schools in the Bay Area, where I have lived the past 5 years.

What are my chances of getting in to any of these? I was accepted to UC Hastings, which I would consider attending but their employment and bar passage figures worry me (not to mention the ludicrous COL in SF). Maybe it's worth retaking in June, breaking 160/165, and re-applying early next cycle? So torn b/c I really want to go back to school. :-/

dietcoke1

Silver

Re: 3.4 156 Latino (Central American) LGBT

Post by dietcoke1 » Mon Mar 06, 2017 7:30 pm

absolutely worth retaking and reapplying, T20 chances are not good

sfn91

Bronze

Post by sfn91 » Mon Mar 06, 2017 8:43 pm

I have a similar background, pedigree, and experience with a slightly higher GPA and significantly higher LSAT and my cycle's not been the best (WLs and dings). I hate "retake" as an automatic suggestion but given my own experience I think you owe it to yourself to do so. A low GPA for URMs is difficult to overcome, so take a course if you can and break into the 160s.

crookedsmile

Bronze