Affordability of Law School Admission Consultants Forum

Share experiences and seek insight regarding your experience as an underrepresented minority within the legal community.
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."

Do you think law school admission consulting services are affordable for minority students?

Poll ended at Sun Mar 28, 2010 10:24 pm

Yes
30%
No
70%

Total votes: 10

legalcareercoach

New

Affordability of Law School Admission Consultants

Post by legalcareercoach » Wed Mar 24, 2010 10:24 pm

Hey everyone, I am new to the forum! So let me introduce myself :) My name is Angela Carter. I am an attorney and a Legal Career Coach. I was curious to see if anyone was hiring a law school admission consultant to help them with their law school applications.

I remember when I was applying to law schools five years ago, some of those consultants were charging over $1,000 for their services and I couldn't afford it. I was taking out student loans to pay for college because my parents couldn't afford to pay for my tuition. Not to mention, I had to come up with the money for a LSAT prep course and law school application fees. As a minority, I felt like I was at a disadvantage because I couldn't afford to pay for those consulting services. I believed that other "wealthier" students who could afford it would have the upper-hand. I'm glad to say that I was wrong because I was able to get into a great law school without hiring one of those consultants.