In Pursuit of FLEP (the AF kind) Forum

sylvernight

New

In Pursuit of FLEP (the AF kind)

Post by sylvernight » Tue Nov 30, 2010 6:04 pm

I'm an active-duty Air Force officer, currently serving in Cyberspace Operations. I commissioned through AF ROTC, and I have five-and-a-half years prior service from the Air National Guard. Despite my complicated service history, I've wanted to be an Air Force JAG for the past nine years, and this winter, I am applying (again).

I created this blog because the low selection rate for JAGs in general, and for the Air Force FLEP program in particular, means that getting information from anyone who has participated in the process can be difficult. Going forward under the assumption that fellow hopefuls would benefit from a chronicled view, I will continue posting as I complete each step towards my FLEP application, and hopefully, beyond.

sylvernight

New

Re: In Pursuit of FLEP (the AF kind)

Post by sylvernight » Tue Nov 30, 2010 7:10 pm

Some information about FLEP:

FLEP stands for Funded Legal Education Program, and is a program through which an active duty officer can attend law school while receiving full pay, benefits, and tuition. As far as I know, all services offer a FLEP program, but as I am only interested in the Air Force, this is what I will be discussing.

Qualifications for FLEP:
- Active duty officer, O-1 through O-3, with 2-6 years active duty service (the active duty part is important to me, because my National Guard service only counts as a little over one year).
- Must apply and be accepted to an ABA-accredited law school, subject to tuition limits stated below.

Limitations of FLEP:
- Under FLEP, tuition is capped at a relatively low number (currently $16K/year), and cannot be supplemented with personal funds or loans. Academic scholarships may be used, but must be approved. This means that unless you're offered a hefty academic scholarship, you won't be attending any Tier-1 schools under this program.