Cornell vs. Ohio State vs. Berkeley Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
jcoming11

New

Cornell vs. Ohio State vs. Berkeley

Post by jcoming11 » Wed Feb 06, 2019 5:31 pm

First time poster here, long time lurker. At this point I have been accepted to Cornell with 35,000 a year, Ohio State (where I'm currently an undergrad) with a full ride, and Berkeley with no financial aid info yet. For the purposes of this, I'm going to assume that I can leverage Berkeley to give me the same or slightly less than Cornell did. With that in mind, COA would be about 45,000 per year for Cornell, 12,000 per year at OSU, and 50,000+ per year at Berkeley. My parents are willing to help me with some cost, which I would pay back, but I would probably have to take out loan money for Berkeley if I was given no money.

Beyond money, my debate between the three schools boils down to my desire to stay near my long term girlfriend (who will be in Columbus for med school) and to go to the school that affords me the best opportunity for the careers that I am interested. While I would appreciate any comments about my decision in general, what I am really looking for is a breakdown of career options/opportunities at the three schools.

I have several potential career paths I am interested in, mostly centered in Government work including: Getting a federal clerkship, working in a U.S. attorney's office, JAG corp, career work as a Judge, possible ambitions in Legislation/Policy.