Patent Attorney Advice Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
m_ho

New

Patent Attorney Advice

Post by m_ho » Tue Jan 22, 2019 9:06 pm

I am a registered patent agent and am looking to become an attorney. Studied ChemE in college and GPA was 2.4, which is why I think I was denied by top schools. Applying to only California law schools.
So far I am as follows:

Denied: Berkeley; UCLA; USC; Davis
Waitlisted: Irvine; Hastings
Accepted: Santa Clara; Golden Gate; Southwestern

Have full ride at GG and SW, while 50% off SC. Any advice on choosing a school would be appreciated. Don't have a good understanding on how important law school ranking is for a patent attorney.

QContinuum

Re: Patent Attorney Advice

Post by QContinuum » Tue Jan 22, 2019 9:21 pm

Are you currently working as a patent agent? If so, are you at a BigLaw firm, or a small shop? Do you have any engineering work experience?

Don't attend Golden Gate or Southwestern under any circumstances. Santa Clara might be worth considering, but only if you have past engineering WE and/or if you're working at a law firm that's willing to take you back as an associate.

m_ho

New

Post by m_ho » Wed Jan 23, 2019 7:31 pm

I have been working as a R&D Engineer for the past two years, but have no patent agent experience (besides filing a provisional/ I have a few patents of my own from work).

Currently 26 yo, graduate ChemE from UCLA if that makes any difference.

Why do you say do not attend GG or SW? My dad, who thinks GG would be fine, went to GG and is a successful patent attorney. Just trying to get another perspective besides his.

QContinuum

Post by QContinuum » Wed Jan 23, 2019 11:44 pm

m_ho wrote:I have been working as a R&D Engineer for the past two years, but have no patent agent experience (besides filing a provisional/ I have a few patents of my own from work).